Stepping away

To say that the last couple months have been nuts, would be an understatement. I have been pushing myself to the edge of exhaustion, simply hanging by a thread trying to stay somewhat on top of my to-do list(s), but always feeling like I’m running down a steep hill, struggling to keep up speed to keep from falling.

Everyone had told me that buying a house would be a stressful experience, and they were right. It has been exciting and stressful all at once, but has been a non-stop obligation either way. I thought that once we got through the paperwork and signatures of closing, that life would slow down. Turns out it’s completely the opposite, as anyone who has ever bought a home would have (and may have) tried to tell me.

On top of that, I started a new job, which is also exciting and stressful all at the same time. Learning new systems and branding and projects and people is normally something to which I would have to devote all of my energy, but also had to be coupled with busy season with my invitation business. So, all of these combined meant that I was working long days at a new job, returning home sapped of my energy but determined to get through a few freelance and household projects and adding each day to the to-do list, barely getting a few checkmarks in along the way.

I was tired.

And a little bit cranky…

Fortunately, my friends had long since planned a weekend away at a cabin, and were good enough to take care of the details without nary a peep from [the normally hands-on] me. I barely had time to throw a few items into my duffle bag the night before. Luckily, my husband was willing to pack up our car and make sure I had everything I needed, knowing that I would be getting in the car without even knowing where into the mountains we were venturing. His one request was for me to leave the laptop at home, and I willingly obliged. I had gotten as much completed as I was going to, and looked forward to a weekend completely disconnected from any looming projects — work, household, freelance, or otherwise.

And it couldn’t have come at a better time.

I can’t tell you how refreshing, relaxing, adventurous and just plain fun my weekend with some of my best friends was.

There was a broken furnace (leading to a group sleeping arrangement of multiple mattresses in front of the fire), there was card-playing, there was delicious food, there was a homemade luge out front of the house and many hilarious rides down in semi-fragile sleds.

There were animals.

 

photo 3

Lots of animals.

4 3

Anyone who knows me knows that with this in the room, it's a straight-up miracle I didn't have nightmares.

Anyone who knows me knows that with this in the room, it’s a straight-up miracle I didn’t have nightmares.

There were naps.

photo 5

And yard games.

2

And some much-needed one-on-one time with my very best friend.

photo 1

As always, there were killer views,

photo 4

best spotted while cruising around on a 4-wheeler with a pal.

photo 2

I haven’t smiled and laughed so hard in such a long time, and was reminded that I have some of the greatest friends in the world. We were able to, once again, step away from “real life” and simply enjoy each others’ company in a new place, making new memories, with absolutely zero negativity or stress.

Needless to say, I came back thoroughly refreshed and with a new perspective on the challenges of a life in transition. I realized that stepping away and unwinding for a couple days, sometimes just a couple hours, is not going to keep the world from turning. In fact, it might just certainly make the ride more worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

