So long 2012, hello 2013!

Throughout 2012, I kept saying to people, “It’s just this crappy year. I can’t wait for it to be over.” I’m not sure what it was, but it seemed like many of my family and friends were taking hit after hit, and my own little family had our own share of challenges. However, looking back and talking about the year with those same friends that received such hard blows, many of them tell me how great a year it has been. A year of overcoming challenges, no doubt, but with putting the negative events behind and looking forward to bigger and better things. Of course, it’s an old cliché, but with every storm comes a rainbow, and I’m so fortunate to be reminded of that truth by my strong, optimistic loved ones.

That said, I’d like to take a look back at the positive memories made in 2012! It was a year of firsts, for certain, as I look back at all of the fun activities we enjoyed.

January: Hikes and snowboarding filled my weekends, as I enjoyed all that a Colorado winter has to offer. We also started a new tradition of art nights with friends, which continued throughout the year.

13

Bob Ross night

February: A snowshoeing expedition and my return to sugar. Plus, more snowboarding and a 10k — my first race since my knee injury.

Keystone, CO

A day at Keystone

March: Lots of celebrations for birthdays, work events and of course, St. Patrick’s day!

15 - Sunglasses (can you see me??)

Antho (and me! in his reflection!) enjoying the St. Patrick’s Day festivities.

April: After an Easter weekend visit by my parents at the beginning of the month, the weather warmed up in time for me to begin work on my vegetable garden, and then we enjoyed some HOT adventures in Moab, Utah. Rounded off the month by surprising my mom in Vegas, toting along my best friend from high school and spending a fun weekend by the pool with the family.

Vegas fun

Vegas fun

May: As spring roared into summer, I began training for a half marathon, and spending as much time as possible outdoors. We ended the month with a trip to Chicago, to catch up with one of my favorite cities and also visit with friends, continuing on to Indiana to spend my birthday with family by the pool. We returned in time for an ice cream party with some of our closest friends to commemorate my big 2-8.

535993_10100671375724668_20703572_49723866_1281496928_n

Mom and Dad’s pool

June: June was a blur with activities at every corner! We enjoyed my brother’s family visiting as they made their way across the country for a big move, and also went whitewater rafting on the Arkansas River. We had our first outdoor climbing adventure, and finally spent Anthony’s birthday weekend on a beautiful backpacking excursion to Upper Cataract Lake.

6

Cataract Lake

July: This month, I had my first golf outing, as we joined some friends at a neighborhood course. I am not enrolling in the PGA tour just yet, and will look forward to making more contact in the future. 🙂 Also, after a busy invitation season, I was able to finally enjoy a wedding for myself as we traveled to my “homeland” for one a high school friend’s wedding.

11

HS buddies with the groom

August: After a challenging but memorable backpacking trip up Mt. Holy Cross, I blew away my former PR with a mountain half-marathon. We rounded out this active month with a charity hike up Mt. Yale. Additionally, Anthony saw his hard work pay off as he began a rewarding new job.

556485_10151428041101164_1640386797_n

The top of Mt. Yale

September: Tour de Fat is always a favorite event of ours, and this year, like the year before, we hosted friends for breakfast and led our little pack to the annual bike parade. We also squeezed in one last backpacking trip to soak up some beautiful fall colors, and had a college friend in town for a weekend of fun.

310690_10100814455456738_158203938_n

Hunt Lake

October: As we started to feel the chill return to the air, we joined friends at a cozy cabin deemed “Rancho Relaxo,” and then hit another cabin for a few days away in Grand Lake with Anthony’s whole family. We also enjoyed our final cruiser bike ride of the year, dressed in our Fifth Element costumes.

227538_4881270836197_1786900728_n

Crazy ladies dancing at Rancho Relaxo (the dogs were just playing, I swear…)

November: I started off the month with a wine tour with some girlfriends, and we rounded it out with Thanksgiving celebrations and holiday visitors.

photo 5

Grand Junction, CO

December: My parents came to visit at the beginning of the month, giving me the chance to play “holiday hostess.” After many Christmas parties and events, we headed to the Midwest to celebrate with family and friends. We made the rounds in Indiana and finished it off with some play-time in Chicago, including an annual visit with two of my best girlfriends and their growing families.

photo

Christmas tree hunting

And that bring us to today! We’ve already got some big things in the works for 2013, and I’m confident that this will be another year of positive growth and exciting adventures. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

